Museum’s Board Nominees and Slate of Officers for 2018-19

By May 17, 2018October 9th, 2018News

The Los Altos History Museum has nominated four new members for its Board of Directors and the slate of officers to serve as its Executive Committee for 2018-19.

Being nominated to join the board for three-year terms beginning July 1, 2018 are: Gunilla Follett, Janet Klinke, Larry Lang, and Dwight Matthews.

Gunilla Follett has actively served on several nonprofit boards, including Music for Minors which she helped found 41 years ago, El Camino Hospital Foundation, Pathways Foundation, and El Camino YMCA. In recognition of her long service, she received the Los Altos – Los Altos Hills Joint Community Service Award in 2016. Gunilla, educated at the Southern Methodist University in Texas, is a professional event planner.

Janet Klinke volunteers as a docent for the Museum’s fundraising events. A Los Altos resident since 1982, she was a Scout leader and St. William School Board member before embarking on a 30-year career in the healthcare field, initially for a local business owner, and then for the County of Santa Clara managing IT systems and solutions for Valley Health Plan. Originally from Chicago, Janet holds a B.A. from St. Xavier University.

Larry Lang serves on the Los Altos Historical Commission. A Bay Area resident since 1991, he moved from New Jersey to join Cisco. His current work focuses on start-ups, most recently as CEO of a software company. He enjoys traveling with his family, including visits to many U.S. Civil War battlefields, and serves a chair of the finance committee at Saint Nicholas church. He holds degrees in engineering from Stanford and Duke.

Dwight Matthews has a distinguished career in engineering, management, and small business ownership, and currently works as an insurance agent for State Farm in Los Altos. He is active in various local nonprofits, including Los Altos Chamber of Commerce, Mentor Tutor Connection, Alta Vista High School, SIR Mid-Peninsula Branch, and Los Altos Rotary. He contributed his story to the Museum’s oral history collection. Dwight grew up in Detroit, Michigan, and holds an Engineering degree from Detroit Institute of Technology.

The Executive Committee for 2018-19 will consist of:

  • Linda Eckols and Eleanor Watanabe, continuing as co-presidents for a second year
  • Julia Lovin, 1st vice president
  • Gary Hedden, secretary
  • John Beman, continuing as treasurer for a second year

The following board members have completed their first three-year term and have agreed to serve for a second term: Marcia Adams and Carole Flores.

The Museum thanks the following outgoing board members for their service: Marilyn Henderson, Jane Reed, Phyllis Dorricott, and Saroj Pathak.